

SEMINAR INVITATION

SOUTH AFRICAN MEDICAL RESEARCH COUNCIL: MOVING FORWARDS

MRC President, Professor Glenda Gray

18 August 2014 16h00 – 17h30

Including FRC Young Investigators Best Publication 2013 Awards Refreshments to follow

Wolfson Pavilion Lecture Theatre, UCT Medical Campus

The Dean of the University of Cape Town's Faculty of Health Sciences, Professor Wim de Villiers, invites you to attend a presentation from the new President of the South African MRC, Professor Glenda Gray, on the plans for the MRC moving forwards.

Glenda Gray, MBBCH, FCPaeds (SA), DSc (honoris causa), an NRF A rated scientist, is the President of the South African Medical Research Council (MRC). Gray, who trained as a Medical Doctor and Paediatrician at the University of the Witwatersrand, co-founded and led the internationally renowned Perinatal HIV Research Unit, based at the Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital in Soweto. She has expertise in mother to child transmission of HIV, HIV vaccines and microbicides. She is the Co-PI of the HIV Vaccine Trials Network and Director of the HVTN International Programs. In 2002, she was awarded the Nelson Mandela Health and Human Rights Award for pioneering work done in the field of Mother-to-Child Transmission of HIV-I. She is a member of the Academy of Science in South Africa, and chairs their standing committee on health. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine, of the National Academies, and serves on their Global Health Board.

Gray has also been awarded the IAPAC "Hero of Medicine" award for work done in the field of HIV treatment in children and adults. In 2009, James McIntyre and Gray received the N'Galy-Mann lectureship in recognition of their HIV research contribution in South Africa. In June 2012 she received a DSc (honoris causa) from the Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, for her work in the field of mother to child transmission of HIV. She has also been admitted into the American Academy of Microbiology in 2012. In 2013 she received the country's highest honour, the Order of Mapungubwe, granted by the president of SA for achievements in the international area which have served South Africa's interest. She also received the EDCTP 2013 Recognition Award for Outstanding African Scientist.

RSVP by 11 Aug: Esmari Taylor 021 406 6734 / esmari.taylor@uct.ac.za Seating is not reserved Please arrive early to avoid disappointment



