

Dean: Faculty of Health Sciences INtloko: IFakalti yezeNzululwazi ngezeMpilo Dekaan: Fakulteit Gesondheidswetenskappe

Professor Gregory Hussey Interim Dean

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch, 7701, South Africa Barnard Fuller Building, Anzio Road, Observatory, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 406-6101 Fax: +27 (0) 21 447-0066 E-mail: gregory.hussey@uct.ac.za Internet: www.uct.ac.za

24 March 2015

Dear Colleagues

INVITATION TO APPLY FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARDS

I write to invite you to consider applying for one of the Excellence in Teaching Awards as adopted by the Faculty Board on 10 March 2015. The awards you could apply for are one of the following:

- The Early Career Teaching Award
- The Dean's Award for Expertise in Health Sciences Education
- The Scholarship in Health Sciences Education Award

The categories of awards are set out in Appendix A (attached) and are also to be found at https://vula.uct.ac.za/x/SylA1m

All staff who currently teach undergraduate and/or postgraduate students in the Faculty of Health Sciences programmes on a full time or part time basis are eligible to apply. These staff could be joint appointees employed by UCT and the Western Cape Government (WCG) or UCT and the National Health Laboratory Services.

Process for submission

- i. Applications and nominations must be submitted <u>electronically</u> to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee, Prof Ian Scott, through the Awards Application Portal set up for this purpose <u>https://vula.uct.ac.za/x/SyIA1m</u>. Copies of the relevant documents may be found here.
- ii. A completed application will include the following:
 - The application form (see attached Appendix B);
 - Your CV;
 - A completed Summary Information Sheet showing your teaching commitments for the period 2013-2015 (see attached Appendix C);
 - A document outlining your personal philosophy of teaching (maximum 2 pages) to be included in your portfolio (see below);
 - A portfolio of evidence on how you meet the criteria of the award you are applying for, constructed in accordance with the Portfolio Guidelines (see Appendix D attached); and
 - The names and contact addresses of three referees who can attest to the quality of your teaching and educational scholarship and the impact these have.

- Applications and nominations, together with all relevant documentation, must be submitted as soon as possible but no later than 18 May 2015. Please note that NO LATE APPLICATIONS WILL BE CONSIDERED.
- iv. If you have any queries regarding the process, please contact Ms Debbie Victor at (tel) 021 406-4328 or (email) <u>debbie.victor@uct.ac.za</u>

The awards committee for 2015 is as follows:

- Chair: Ian Scott
- Full time members of teaching staff of the faculty:
 - o Brian Eley
 - o Nadia Hartman
 - o Harsha Kathard
 - o Virna Leaner
 - o Anwar Mall
 - o Steve Reid
- CHED nominee: Kasturi Behari-Leak
- Admin Support: Debbie Victor
- Technical Support: Gregory Doyle

The timelines for 2015 are as follows:

- By 2 April
 - o Call for nominations initiated
- By 18 May
 - o Deadline for submission of materials to the Awards Committee
- By 11 June
 - o Shortlisting meeting
 - o Recipients selected and names submitted to Dean
- During July
 - o Announcement at Faculty Board
- During November
 - o Award Ceremony

The submission instructions are:

Via Vula site - FHS Staff 2014 - Nominations | Submission | Browse | Attach your document | Submit

I take this opportunity to thank you most sincerely for your contributions to teaching and learning in the Faculty and wish you every success during the year ahead.

Yours sincerely

PROF. GREGORY HUSSEY INTERIM DEAN