## **Rolf-Dieter Kortmann**



**Qualifications:** 

Professor, Medical Doctor

## **Professional experience:**

 1984-1992 Registrar, Department of Radiology, Radiooncology Stuttgart, Essen, Tuebingen
1992-2004 Consultant Radiooncology, University of Tuebingen

Since 2004 Head of Department, Department of Radiation Therapy, University of Leipzig

## **Special Interest:**

Paediatric Radiooncology, CNS Tumours, Quality Assurance

The scientific expertise comprises quality control in radiation oncology with special emphasis on geometric precision of different radiotherapy technologies including craniospinal irradiation.

After qualification for radiation oncology in 1992 scientific research focussed mainly on childhood brain tumours finally leading to the establishment of the German Study and Reference Centre for Paediatric Radiation Oncology in Childhood Brain Tumours. With the introduction of prospective brain tumour trials in Germany in the early 90s prospective quality control programmes for radiotherapy were introduced on a nationwide level.

The activities also included prospective trials of SIOP (International Society for Paediatric Oncology) for medulloblastoma and intracranial germcell tumours.

Course director of ESTRO-PROS Teaching Courses in 2009, 2011, 2013 addressing radiation oncologists worldwide.

## Membership in professional societies:

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Radioonkologie (DEGRO

Deutsche Krebsgesellschaft (DKG)

Neuroonkologische Arbeitsgemeinschaft (NOA)

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Pädiatrische Onkologie und Hämatologie (GPOH)

Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Pädiatrische Radioonkologie (APRO)

European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ESTRO)

European Association for NeuroOncology (EANO)

European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), Brain Tumour Group

European organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), Radiotherapy Group

SIOP (Société Internationale d'Oncologie Pédiatrique), Brain Tumour Committee

PROS (Pediatric Radiation Oncology Society), Member of the Executive Committee