

#### UNIVERSITY OF CAPE TOWN Faculty of Health Sciences

FACULTY RESEARCH OFFICE: Private Bag X3, Rondebosch, 7701, South Africa Barnard Fuller Building, Anzio Road, Observatory, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650 1798 or 406 6734

E-mail: research.health@uct.ac.za

# 2016 Publication Count: call for research publications

The Faculty invites the academic community to submit their 2016 research publications for submission to the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). This process results in the DHET awarding subsidy to UCT for articles in DHET-accredited journals, peer-reviewed research books (including chapters in books) and peer-reviewed conference proceedings.

In this regard we would like to alert you to the following processes and deadlines for the reporting of 2016 publications.

## 1. Loading research publications on eRA

All qualifying research publications must be captured on the new electronic Research Administration system (eRA), <u>http://eRAonline.uct.ac.za</u>,

For the 2016 publication count cycle, the Faculty's research office will capture all publications on eRA. To ensure your publications are captured, please submit via email/hardcopy to:

Esmari Taylor Email: esmari.taylor@uct.ac.za Hardcopies: Faculty of Health Sciences Research Office, Barnard Fuller Building, Anzio Road, Observatory

OR

Submit your publications to your departmental publication count coordinator listed on the next page.

**Please note:** eRA will be rolled out in due course, and communication about this process will be directed through the Faculty and Departmental Coordinators

#### 2. Submission of hardcopy documents for the publication count

Hard copies of the qualifying publications listed above are collated by the departmental coordinator and the relevant data is captured on eRA by the Faculty Research Office. The hard copies are checked and passed on to the central Research Office (see page 2 for more details.)

Departmental heads and individual researchers are requested to please take cognisance of the DHET's guidelines which are available at <u>http://www.researchsupport.uct.ac.za/publications-29</u>.

#### 3. New DHET Policy on Research Outputs

A new DHET research outputs policy was recently announced, and will be implemented for publications produced in 2016 (and reported in 2017). A copy of the policy is available at <a href="http://www.researchsupport.uct.ac.za/publications-29">http://www.researchsupport.uct.ac.za/publications-29</a>.

### 4. Deadlines

**<u>Final Deadline</u>**: 31 January 2017. This is the final closing date for all outstanding publications, as well as all books, to be captured online and to reach the Faculty Research Office.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Faculty Research Office with queries relating to the above process or policy (<u>research.health@uct.ac.za</u>)

We look forward to working with academics and departmental coordinators during the 2016 Publication Count cycle. Please do not hesitate to contact us as required.

Sincerely, Faculty of Health Sciences Research Office

# Details of departmental publication count coordinators:

Anaesthesia	Zelda Carlse	zelda.carlse@uct.ac.za
Child and Adolescent Health	Geanine Hopley	geanine.hopley@uct.ac.za
Children's Institute	Lori Lake	lori.lake@uct.ac.za
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences	Cindy Lewis	cindy.lewis@uct.ac.za
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences	Judith Roberts	judith.roberts@uct.ac.za
Health Sciences Education	Lisa Little	lisa.little@uct.ac.za
Human Biology ( Exercise Science & Sports Med )	Ayesha Hendricks	ayesha.hendricks@uct.ac.za
Human Biology	Abbigale Van der Westhuizen	abbigale.vanderwesthuizen@uct.ac .za
Medicine	Zameka Ndzotyana	zam.ndzotyana@uct.ac.za
Obstetrics and Gynaecology	Jennifer Heunis	jennifer.heunis@uct.ac.za
Obstetrics and Gynaecology	Linda Arendse	linda.arendse@uct.ac.za
Primary Health Care Directorate	Cha Johnston	cha.johnston@uct.ac.za
Psychiatry and Mental Health	Sandra Swart	sandra.swart@uct.ac.za
Psychiatry and Mental Health	Rehana Effendi	rehana.effendi@uct.ac.za
Psychiatry and Mental Health	Riana Olivier	riana.oliver@uct.ac.za
Public Health and Family Medicine	Liza Smith	liza.smith@uct.ac.za
Radiation Medicine	Nadia Mitchell	nadia.mitchell@uct.ac.za
Radiology	Lee Koegelenberg	lee.koegelenberg@uct.ac.za
Surgery (Cardiovascular)	Judy Brooks	judy.brooks@uct.ac.za
Surgery (ENT)	Farhana Hassan	farhana.hassan@uct.ac.za
Surgery (Emergency Medicine)	Aileen Maas	aileen.maas@uct.ac.za
Surgery	Warda Brown	warda.brown@uct.ac.za

Nazla Hassen	nazla.hassen@uct.ac.za
Leigh Marinus	leigh.fritz@uct.ac.za
Jene Ward	jene.ward@uct.ac.za
Miranda Waldron	miranda.waldron@uct.ac.za
Adielah Van der Schyff	adielah.vanderschyff@uct.ac.za
June Mehl	june.mehl@uct.ac.za
Leslene Scott	leslene.scott@uct.ac.za
Coleen Fredericks	coleen.fredericks@uct.ac.za
Heidi Paulse	heidi.paulse@uct.ac.za
Dhuraiyah Abdullatief	dhuraiyah.abdullatief@uct.ac.za
Doris Moiloa	doris.moiloa@uct.ac.za
Thelma Galsworthy	thelma.galsworthy@uct.ac.za
Chantal van Niekerk	chantal.vanniekerk@uct.ac.za
	Leigh Marinus Jene Ward Miranda Waldron Adielah Van der Schyff June Mehl Leslene Scott Coleen Fredericks Heidi Paulse Dhuraiyah Abdullatief Doris Moiloa Thelma Galsworthy